top of page
2022-02-12_Philip Weyand_Foto_Dovile Sermokas187A6943.jpg

MYOSOTIS

KRISTINA SHAMGUNOVA - alto saxophone
PHILIP WEYAND - piano / vocals
NICO KLÖFFER - double bass
MICHA JESSKE - drums

Philip Weyand does not agree with the development of contemporary floristry:

Not flowery enough, and somehow it used to smell more intense, didn't it? - "Nostalgia is a virtue!" he tells his band one morning. Because they not only know him well, but are real friends, they don't think he's crazy, but know immediately what to do:

Pack the instruments, get on the train. A glass house is rented, seeds are purchased, thumbs manicured green, potting soil freshly scented spread, and then they throw sounds: warmly bleeding for Placido, melancholically drifting for Myosotis, pale smoldering for Unbunt, downright phototoxic for Anthrax, longing-calling for's Zwischenspiel, freely meandering for N°X, energetically swirling for EtG, sizzlingly swinging for Nomos, southern melting for Schweifen, crystalline shimmering for Stardurst.
And all this: performed in a deserted, sultry house; only plants are the audience. Do they hear the music? Do they not sway gently to the beat? I think I heard the angel trumpets sigh. But it could also be a hallucination.

My heart is so warm.

-Stephan Pfalzgraf (jazz expert)

Now digital and on CD 

at Bandcamp:

Bandcamp.jpg
UNIT_Logo_black.tif
spotify-available-on-spotify-png-4.jpg
itunes-logo.jpg
Myosotis
Anthrax
Cover Digital.jpg

press reviews

"You have to remember the name. Philip Weyand. The music on this album is an incredibly colorful, surprising and often very lyrical collection of sounds. Despite the open forms and original consonances, an impression of order and stable sound structures prevails. Neither is the music hermetic and difficult to listen to. On the contrary, it is flowing, delicate and caresses the ear like a spring breeze."

Myosotis-mannheimermorgen_edited.jpg

Mannheim morning:

all photos on this page © Dovile Sermokas

  • Bandcamp Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • YouTube
bottom of page

top of page
2022-02-12_Philip Weyand_Foto_Dovile Sermokas187A6943.jpg

MYOSOTIS

KRISTINA SHAMGUNOVA - alto saxophone
PHILIP WEYAND - piano / vocals
NICO KLÖFFER - double bass
MICHA JESSKE - drums

"Mit der Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Floristik ist Philip Weyand nicht einverstanden:

Nicht blumig genug, zu wenige Stilblüten, und irgendwie hat's doch früher intensiver geduftet, nicht? - "Nostalgie ist eine Tugend!", teilt er eines morgens seiner Band mit. Weil die ihn nicht nur gut kennen, sondern echte Freunde sind, halten sie ihn nicht für verrückt, sondern wissen sofort was zu tun ist:

Packen die Instrumente ein, steigen in den Zug. Ein Glashaus wird gemietet, Saatgut angeschafft, die Daumen grün manikürt, Blumenerde frisch duftend ausgebreitet, und dann wird mit Tönen geworfen: warm blutende für Placido, melancholisch treibende für Myosotis, blass schwelgende für Unbunt, geradezu phototoxische für Anthrax, sehnend-rufende für's Zwischenspiel, frei mäandrierende für N°X, energisch wirbelnde für EtG, zischend schwingende für Nomos, südlich schmelzende für Schweifen, kristallin flirrende für Stardurst.
Und all dies: aufgeführt in einem menschenleeren, schwül umflorten Haus; nur Pflanzen sind das Publikum. Hören sie die Musik? Wiegen sie nicht sanft im Takt? Ich glaub, ich habe die Engelstrompeten seufzen hören. Kann aber auch eine Halluzination sein.

Mir ist so warm ums Herz."

-Stephan Pfalzgraf

Jetzt Digital und als CD:

Bandcamp.jpg
UNIT_Logo_black.tif
spotify-available-on-spotify-png-4.jpg
itunes-logo.jpg
Myosotis
Anthrax
Cover Digital.jpg

Pressestimmen

"Man muss sich den Namen merken. Philip Weyand. Die Musik auf diesem Album ist eine unglaublich bunte, überraschende und oft sehr lyrische Sammlung von Klängen. Trotz der offenen Formen und originellen Konsonanzen überwiegt ein Eindruck von Ordnung und stabilen Klangstrukturen. Ebenso wenig ist die Musik hermetisch und schwer zu hören. Im Gegenteil, sie ist fließend, zart und streichelt das Ohr wie eine Frühlingsbrise."

Myosotis-mannheimermorgen_edited.jpg

Mannheimer Morgen:

all photos on this page © Dovile Sermokas

  • Bandcamp Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • iTunes
  • Spotify
  • YouTube
bottom of page